Dostoyevsky – Crime and Punishment

So last summer I finally read Dante’s Inferno after years of feeling like I should have already read it, but hadn’t. (Cue the English major guilt.)

This summer I decided to try for a similar experience and after looking through some random “Best Novels Ever” lists I decided to try some Russian lit. In a Virginia Woolf class I took a few years ago I remember her being a big Dostoyevsky fan, and Crime and Punishment seemed like a doable length for a summer read, so here I am.

Screen Shot 2016-06-02 at 3.22.30 PM

I went for the hardback Everyman’s Library edition because I really like how they feel in hand, the quality of the books, even the paper. They hold up to underlining and the spines don’t split. The only thing I would change is to make the margins at the edge of the text slightly roomier for marginalia. But that’s a quibble.

I asked on Facebook if any friends would want to read along with me and a few volunteered — great proof that my friends are kindred spirit nerds. And so we begin!

 

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

