Crime and Punishment

So from the summer of 2016 until February of 2017, in an attempt to cross one of those classics-I’ve-never-read off my list, I made my way through Crime and Punishment by Fyodor Dostoevsky.

I definitely took some breaks and had to force myself back into it, but here are my thoughts (sometimes basically just brief recaps) for each section. In hindsight, I wish I had read it with a class or with some group feedback along the way, but at least I’m glad I jotted down my thoughts as I went through, so maybe they can take that role for someone else who might be trying to read the book on their own.

 

Posts Before I Started

(Why so many? Perhaps a clue I was not super eager to read this book. Haha.)

Mock Execution 

Two Great C&P Links

My copy of the book

Why Crime and Punishment

Virginia Woolf Raves about Fyodor Dostoevsky

 

Recaps and Thoughts about Part 1

Part 1, Chapter 1

Part 1, Chapter 2 and Chapter 3

Part 1, Chapter 4

Part 1, Chapter 5

Part 1, Chapter 6 and Chapter 7

Part 2

Part 2, Chapter 1 and Chapter 2

Part 2, Chapter 3

Part 2, Chapter 4 and Chapter 5

Part 2, Chapter 6

Part 2, Chapter 7

Part 3

Part 3, Chapter 1 and Chapter 2

Part 3, Chapter 3 and Chapter 4

Part 3, Chapter 5 (Oops took a four month break!)

Part 3, Chapter 6

Part 4

Part 4, Chapter 1 You can sort of tell I was losing  steam here — fewer double-chapter days, and fewer attempts to find relevant artwork or images.

Part 4, Chapter 2 

Part 4, Chapter 3 

Part 4, Chapter 4 

Part 4, Chapter 5 

Part 4, Chapter 6 

 

Part 5

Part 5, Chapter 1

Part 5, Chapter 2

Part 5, Chapter 3

Part 5, Chapter 4

Part 5, Chapter 5

 

Part 6

Part 6, Chapter 1

Part 6, Chapter 2 and Chapter 3

Part 6, Chapter 4 and Chapter 5

Part 6, Chapter 6

Part 6, Chapter 7 and Chapter 8

 

The Epilogue(s)

Epilogue, Chapters 1 and 2

 

So… that’s that, I guess.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

